Archinect
anchor

Masters Thesis with real clients?

mpl79

Hello all,

This is my first time posting, so please bear with me! I am considering thesis topics for my final year, next year, and have stumbled across a potentially interesting, potentially idiotic option. A yoga community and retreat centre where I travel annually for a weekend retreat, is considering a new building and some site work for their large 60+ acre site. It is not a tropical vacation kind of place, more like a working farm in the boonies. 

I think I would have enough for a thesis here - not sure the exact statement, but along the lines of "how can architecture provide access to spirituality in a chaotic world?"  Does this seem like an approvable topic? 

More than this, I am wondering if anyone has any thoughts on doing one's student thesis with actual clients? The expectations would have to be clearly defined from the outset, I am not working for them, simply using their input as a basis for program and user needs/requirements. Whether the end results are usable to the community or if it comes to a actual commission is not really a worry. Hopefully, at the very least, I can provide them some rendering images to use for fundraising purposes.

Any major conflicts or pitfalls you would forsee or caution against would be much appreciated.

Thanks. m.

Jun 27, 16 5:11 pm
monosierra

The work of dealing with real world matters e.g. budget, code, client management might overwhelm your effort or limit your project to a practical design that doesn't attempt to investigate issues about architecture that theses typically delve into.

Of course, it is totally possible to do a successful thesis project that both handles real world matters with aplomb and takes the opportunity to explore something with singular focus.