Archinect
anchor

Company looking for software / hardware combo as working tools for future Architect Employee

Greg Pereira

So here's the deal. We got nothing... it's a minefield of epic proportions

Were in the process of creating a company in construction. Were very innovative and and came up with the interesting concept of hiring an architect. We discovered that after creating various patents and unusual other stuff it must have been a fluke for it seems were not intelligent enough to decide what software / hardware  to buy for a future employee/ colleague.

we thought, wacom 27" plus an sli machine plus CAD software... what can go wrong I hear you ask. Well I'm an engineer not an architect, so it seems that i spoke binary language to our first candidate that disappeared into the sunset. Young guy, a couple of years exp that turned gray at the mention of wacom and auto cad ( we don't know what to buy )

Sooo after some reflection, 22 pots of coffee, some Jack and a lot of professional counseling  we decided to ask the question.

what are the tools of the trade for a CREATIVE architect this days?

Jun 27, 16 1:19 pm
Non Sequitur

what are the tools of the trade for a CREATIVE architect this days?

...not working for engineers.

Jun 27, 16 1:30 pm  · 
 · 
Greg Pereira

i was soooo expecting that ;)

Jun 27, 16 1:33 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

AutoCAD is not a program for design, it's a program for documentation. 

If you want to attract a "creative" designer, shop for creativity first and let them tell you what environment they prefer to work in. Asking about software is putting the cart before the horse.

Jun 27, 16 1:40 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Rhinoceros. 

You will run into some architects who have other preferences for 3D modeling, but I would say the vast majority of "creative" firms are using Rhino in concept and schematic phases. It is also only $900 for a license. Beats the hell out of sketchup and lots of other much more expensive 3d software.