Archinect
anchor

Needed: Advice for someone with no Architecture background!

samanthaashley

I am a recent graduate from UMass Amherst with a BS in Biology. I was originally pre-med aimed but ultimately decided it was not what I was looking for. I have always loved art through school and drew in my free time or for classes and I loved when I got the opportunity to create a model for a class. I have always toyed with the idea of architecture but never gave it serious thought. Now that I am in an open position and ready to change directions, I'm looking into it much more and am finding myself truly compelled by the career and education. I have been looking at MArch programs. I am currently located in Colorado and am a first generation college student. I'm very interested in CU Denver because of how convenient the location is but I'm not opposed to going anywhere else in the country. I want to go to a good school that will put me in a good position for employment opportunities so I have been trying to avoid many low tier schools but I truly have no idea how competitive this program is. I don't know what my GRE scores should be aimed at, what an ideal GPA would be (or if it matters much since I don't have an architecture background), or if certain schools are looking for students from certain locations. Other schools I have on my radar are MIT, UTexas, and Cincinnati. Any advice at all is greatly appreciated! 

Jun 24, 16 10:05 pm
jrg4597