Archinect
anchor

Completed IDP...in only 10 years

Bennythejetr
So I finally completed my IDP hours. I graduated in 2006 and just last month submitted my final hours. This however, included a 3 year hiatus from architecture after being laid off and 3 years working with a GC, which counted for some hours.

Just glad to have IDP out of the way. Next step, take the 5 exam route to licensing. I read that I could take 3 exams in the current ARE 4.0 and just have to take 2 in the new ARE 5.0. So hopefully by mid next year, I will have completed my educational goal.

Just thought I would share.

Jun 18, 16 2:01 pm
geezertect

Congratulations.

From everything I see posted on this site, IDP sounds like an impossibly cumbersome regimen.  Seven years is absurd.  The guy operating on your brain doesn't have to put in that many years of internship before license. Every day I live I am given some reason to believe that I was born at the right time and will be departing the scene at the right time.

REEEdiculous. 

Jun 18, 16 2:58 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

IDP is some dumb ass sh*T.

You probably learned more working with a GC than you would have at most architecture firms.

Jun 18, 16 3:32 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

It's an ass backwards system 

Jun 18, 16 3:34 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

congratulations! 

The exams aren't that bad... just get in there and do it!

Schedule 1/ month, and schedule the next before you take the current one. Don't be afraid to fail! What is $200 in the scheme of your career?

Jun 18, 16 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
Bennythejetr
Thanks!

Everything I know I've learned from working with a GC. The last year i spent working in an architecture firm, but I helped them manage some construction projects. It worked out because I was able to get my final hours at the same time.

I want to stay in construction, but I am sure having a license will open more opportunities in the future.
Jun 18, 16 8:53 pm  · 
 · 
go do it