Archinect
anchor

Help! My firm never has work for me to do

m_mask

Hi, I'm new to the forum and would like to ask for any advice on my problem. I'm sorry this is long, but I would like to hear someone's opinion on my job situation.

I recently graduated from a two-year college with an Associate Degree in Architectural Design & Technology. During my final semester, I got a paid internship position at a cabinetry company as a CAD technician. I really enjoyed the job even though I only worked twice a week and felt very fulfilled and challenged. When I was an intern, I was busy making renders and animations in the software my company wanted to bridge into their workflow since I was the only one who had experience with these new programs.
After I graduated, I was hired full time and it seems like my job completely changed. I've been working as an "official" employee for 5 weeks now, don’t have any projects to work on, and am literally up to my own devices. I work 10 1/2 hour days, so by the end of the week, I feel miserable.

When I ask if there are any projects for me to do, my managers look stumped and say there isn't any. This week, a manager told me that, "This is normal. Sometimes we have slow days." I have a hard time believing it because a week ago, we had several meetings about our tight deadlines and our excessive overtime hours this month. To compare, there are 5 of us in the office and two other drafters have 14 projects each. A couple days ago, I mentioned it was cold in the office (as in temperature) and the same manager joked that I feel that way because "I don't do any work."