Archinect
anchor

Small office trying to switch to Revit, how did you do it?

smithgroupla

I'm an Architect with a staff of 2 other Architects.  We with Autocad for all our construction documents.  We do alot of 3D modeling in sketchup, probably for about 75% of our projects.  We do about 12 to 15 projects a year, almost all new construction.

I was hoping to hear how some other firms in similar situations have dealt with smoothing out the transition.  Would love to see what kind of problems you had, how you solved them and if there are any other resources I can explore.

Thanks!

Jun 10, 16 3:52 am
xx__

You'll need to hire someone new who knows what he's doing.

Jun 10, 16 4:11 am  · 
 · 
Zbig

What xx___ said is right. You need someone with Revit experience. Revit requires a different mindset. You will get to points in the design that you know what you need to do, but don't know how to get there. Someone with experience might be able to help. You will be googling a lot for solutions to simple issues.

Your first Revit project should be something that you do a lot already so you don't have to solve too many design issues while you are trying to learn Revit.

You should also consider having your first Revit project as a hybrid: some work on Revit, other parts on AutoCAD, especially if you already have a lot of typical details on AutoCAD.

Try to start with a project where the schedule is stretched out comfortably.

Revit projects tend to be more front-loaded. There is more work to be done in SD and DD, and less in CDs. Many decisions that normally get made later will be made earlier. Make sure that your fees are also front-loaded, so if the project gets stopped, you are not in the hole.

Jun 10, 16 7:50 am  · 
 · 
archanonymous

If you are starting from scratch, go with ArchiCAD.

Jun 10, 16 8:02 am  · 
 · 
bundy

"If you are starting from scratch, go with ArchiCAD"