Archinect
anchor

Promotion from employee to partner?

mtdew

I am a licensed architect with 12 years of work experience. I've been working at my current firm for past three years. I have an active role in the office as the project architect in their biggest project and guiding the younger employees. It's a relatively young firm run by a couple LLP. Both architects. I have received a raise every year and looking forward to another work review this summer and hopefully another raise. 

Work has been steady and I expect that it will only get better as we are having more projects published. 

When I have my next review, I was planning to propose this to the partners. Instead of a raise; my current salary will remain the same but I would have a financial stake in the company by taking a percentage of the company profit. Maybe 5 or 10%? Basically becoming a limited partners and taking a cut of the profits. Kind of like how some tech. start up companies pay their employees. 

There are pros and cons to the partners for this. Pros, it shows my dedication to the success of the firm. Cons; the partners might feel that I'm butting into their business and might not wan t me to know their financial information. 

My benefit would be that I can have a voice on how the office is run. Also, instead of getting a raise every so often until I am capped out; I might be able to get a substantial raise as the firm grows. 

It would like to get your feedback and it would be great to know if any other architects are being paid like this way and if it has worked to their benefit. 

Thanks!

Jun 8, 16 11:39 am
chigurh

about a 99% chance it is never going to happen.

Too many factors involved - when you say couple you mean romantically involved?  That company is their baby, and it is highly unlikely they are going to give up control to an outsider that only has 3 years in the firm, no matter how well you have been performing for the company.