Archinect
anchor

PC laptop for school

WaffleMan22

Hello everyone,

I will be starting undergrad in August at WashU in St. Louis, and need to get a PC laptop for it. The specifications that I need just came with a load of course registration information, and are as follows:

Intel or AMD processor 1.8 GHz (this is the minimum)

Integrated Wireless-N Network Card

RAM 4GB (more if possible)

HDD 320 GB hard drive (or higher)

Video card with 256 MB of dedicated RAM (or higher)

Windows "professional" Operating System (Windows 8)

Also highly recommended:

A minimum 15-inch display

External hard drive of 500 GB to 1 TB for secure storage of backup files

Computer lock for use in studios

Damage warranty provided by manufacturers

My question is if anyone has gone through the PC laptop buying process before. As someone that has always used Apple software and devices, I have never done so before. Does anyone have any specific recommendations as far as what laptop to buy or how to go about the process of buying one? Thanks!!

Jun 7, 16 4:04 pm
Non Sequitur

4GB of ram?

256mb GPU?

Is that even enough to run sketchup?

Top right of the screen, look for the search function and find dozens of identical questions.

My only real suggestion is to go for the 17" laptops with calculators on the keyboard. Easier for CAD plus the larger size allows for better GPU and cooling.

Jun 7, 16 4:12 pm  · 
 · 
WaffleMan22

I'm sure that these are bare minima. I'm just not sure how to go about buying one. Is there a website where I can put in all of my specifications and search?

Jun 7, 16 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

http://www.newegg.com/

Jun 7, 16 4:31 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

minimums:

Intel i5

16GB + RAM

Dedicated Graphics Card

SSD

anything else is superfluous.

Jun 7, 16 4:31 pm  · 
 · 
WaffleMan22

What is SSD?

Jun 7, 16 4:35 pm  · 
 · 
WaffleMan22