Archinect
anchor

Architecture thesis advice

pitser

Hello there,

I am new to this site and format so this is my first post, and i would really appreciate any help coming my way!

I am doing my thesis with no actual pressure and i am progressing quite slowly. I am working on a project for my thesis, which is roughly a floating concentration of individual housing units for musicians. The purpose is for them to be inhabited occasionally and work as places of separation, isolation and inspiration for any troubled musicians in a modern city and society.

The thing is i am having difficulty finding a site for it since these people (musicians ) living there are going to have trouble. I want it to be a bit isolated from modern cities with their fast pace and exhausting rhythms. So getting supplies is going to be a tough matter. 

Also the jetty is going to be used as a stage and the units as background to it, so it will attract people that need some facilities: somewhere to sit and enjoy the concert, restrooms and parking. This is a bit contradictory but it is only going to happen a few times per year (at least that is the plan). 

I was thinking about choosing a calm lake and position the whole thing close to shoreline. I thought that from the shoreline up, there should be some kind of steep-ish hill to be used as natural seating for the spectators with minor modifications to the ground and the greenery. Btw the site should be within Greece and reachable from Athens, where i live.

Hit me with ideas and thank you in advance!

Petros

Jun 1, 16 4:46 pm
gdub