Archinect
anchor

Undergraduate Degree in Advertising and Applying to MArch Programs

rmgraff

Hello everyone,

I am currently a student studying at the University of Southern Indiana.  My major is advertising, but architecture is something I aim to grab a hold of at the graduate level.  I will be graduating Fall 2016 with academic honors and other accolades.

I have been intrigued by architecture for many years.  Whether it was my time being a gopher on a construction sites or my woodworking hobby, I  am thankful I have the opportunity to apply to architectural graduate school.  With that said, I knew I had to do some things in order to build my resume up and create a portfolio for my application.  I took an autocad course for drafting and annotation.  I thoroughly enjoyed this class because the software made design much easier and more importantly fun.  Also, I signed up for woodworking courses.  In these classes, I created many original pieces from pencil all the way to 3-D manifestation.  Being in the studio was relaxing, and became a part of my life.  One of the pieces was placed in the annual student show and won.  

Just to understand my situation a little further, I have a 3.95 major GPA and received A's in all the classes I signed up to stand out on my architecture application.  I am active in two different groups on campus and  was a resident assistant,  Also, this summer I was hired to commercialize military patents in order to create jobs in the Evansville Area.  Finally, I have a great reference for my woodworking, academic work, and paid work.