Archinect
anchor

How to get it all from a grad school

leriot

Hello, guys!

I would appreciate your advice and tips on how to get it all from a grad school in the USA. I often read here on Academia forums that a grad school becomes what one makes of it. So how to make it into an amazing educational and social experience?

I am an international student that was never engaged into American educational system before and soon is going to a low-ranking school with a small faculty body. I intend to take it all from this experience but afraid that I won't recognize a right opportunity.

Thanks!

May 31, 16 12:14 pm
leriot

@Black_Orchid Thank you so much for your reply! It is very inspirational=) I will follow your advice and have fun in the school!

May 31, 16 12:37 pm  · 
 · 
good details

Did my undergrad and will be going for my Masters in 2017 or 2018.  Having taken some time away from school to work and travel (in addition to reading massive amounts about the industry which I failed to do during my undergrad), this is what I plan to do to make the most out of my Masters.

• Acquire as much structures and detailing knowledge as I can.  During desk crits I plan to focus more on asking my professors how my ideas would actually be built.  I want to use structure and building science knowledge to inform my designs.  Many schools seem to offer the bare minimum of these courses so it is important to acquire as much of this knowledge as you can on your own time.
    • Show at least one or two detail drawings in each final presentation regardless of what the brief calls for.  This will help massively in applying for jobs after school as my portfolio will show I have detailing knowledge.