Archinect
anchor

can you deduct travel expenses to see exemplary architectural works?

Koww

If I travel to Ronchamp for example, for the sole purpose of seeing architecture, and I work in the architecture industry, is there any tax benefit?

May 30, 16 5:06 pm
Non Sequitur

...no

What a dumb question: Seeking tax deduction for vacation expenses.

First world problem, amIright?

May 30, 16 5:11 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I certainly do. Why do you ask?

Jun 26, 17 10:37 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Left your sense of humour in the lobby of the NYC trump tower I presume.

Jun 26, 17 10:49 am  · 
 · 
Wish I could deduct my trip to Norway and Iceland in September. That would be the best.
May 30, 16 5:46 pm  · 
 · 
Koww

Why is it a dumb question? I know you can deduct things like conferences, workshops, etc.

May 30, 16 6:07 pm  · 
 · 
Koww

I'm no tax attorney but this seems like it falls in this category

Qualifying Work-Related Education

You can deduct the costs of qualifying work-related education as business expenses. This is education that meets at least one of the following two tests.

• The education is required by your employer or the law to keep your present salary, status, or job. The required education must serve a bona fide business purpose of your employer.

• The education maintains or improves skills needed in your present work.

May 30, 16 6:14 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

you can deduct travel expenses for looking for a job/going to an interview right?  just go on an interview while you're there.

May 30, 16 7:56 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

It's not a dumb question, just the wrong place to ask it.  I'd check the discussion board at Accountanect.com... or its equivalent.  A good tax preparer will know.

May 30, 16 8:17 pm  · 
 · 
I did when I went to Norway in 2011, but that was a research fellowship I received while in school so my out of pocket expenses counted as education expenses (or at least the IRS didn't say anything about it)
May 30, 16 8:42 pm  · 
 · 
JeromeS