Archinect
anchor

Way to do career transfer from Offshore structural engineer to Architect?

jaeholee

"Way to do career transfer from Offshore structural engineer to Architect?"

Hello,

I have been working as an offshore structural engineer for 8years in one of the biggest company in the world and looking for an career transfer to Building design industries.

The reason is simple. Whenever I design the offshore structures, there is no need to consider "beauty" but I wanted to think about aesthetics.

I majored in mechanical engineering and currently in the second semester of offshore plant engineering for my master degree at Seoul National University in Korea (supported by my company).

I was thinking that I have two options as follows,

First option, after finishing current master degree($ reasons in my company) I could do doctoral degree in Architecture, but not sure if this is possible.

Second option, Just to forgive current study and just go US or Australia to do master degree in Architect.

Are there anyone who could give me some advice? 

Would appreciate it so much.

Thank you for reading.

May 27, 16 12:28 pm
Dangermouse

A masters degree in architecture will better prepare you for the profession than a PhD, which is generally structured towards teaching and research.  A strong mechanical background will be a huge plus for most masters programs.  

May 27, 16 1:27 pm  · 
 · 
Volunteer

Have you thought of becoming a naval architect? A lot of transference with what you are studying and naval architects are very concerned with aesthetics.

May 28, 16 8:16 am  · 
 · 
DeTwan