Archinect
anchor

Interest in Architecture

sia331

Greetings all - It's my first posting on archinect... I graduated from a university in Canada with a bachelors degree in physical science in 2011. Decided to start something on my own and started and operated a business for a few years up till now. I suddenly feel the strong urge to go back to school again, and possibly & hopefully major in architecture. I started doing my research for the last couple of days, and got confused about .... bachelor and masters programsin Arch. If you were begin with a background such as mine, where would you have to begin to pursue a career in architecture......Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

May 19, 16 12:18 am
no_form

don't do it.  get a business degree or an engineering degree.  much more profitable.  you will be able to make money and enjoy your life.  

i say this because i hear nothing about why you want to study architecture.

May 19, 16 1:57 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
No_form has a point there. Plenty of people have a romantic view of architecture and throw themselves into it without understanding the long path to licensure or the complexities/tediousness of building design/construction.

With that said, to qualify for intern architect in Canada (and for eventually completing the minimum hours to write the exams), you'll be an accredited masters degree and a few schools carter to students without architecture backgrounds. UBC and UofT are the largest and most popular.
May 19, 16 7:56 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

Here we go again.  Architecture can be a fascinating topic of interest, but as a profession it is usually poor paid, insecure, and often frustrating and demoralizing.  Do your homework on the realities of the profession itself before you start obsessing about how to enter it.

May 19, 16 8:04 am  · 
 · 
AdrianFGA

Plenty of people have a romantic view of architecture