Archinect
anchor

Canadian MArch Advice: Dalhousie vs. Carleton

tuck

Hi internet, I need help making a decision.

About me: I'm a Canadian with an undergrad and masters (oops) in Civil Engineering who, after working in an architecture office for about a year, has decided to get a MArch degree (yes I'm ditching engineering - please don't try to talk me out of it). I've been accepted into Dalhousie's BEDS/MArch program and into Carleton's MArch program. 

What I know: Halifax appeals to me more than Ottawa, but I've never been to either. Carleton's program is 1 year shorter, which is great because I've already wasted lots of time and money on university. Dalhousie has a coop program; which isn't that important to me as I already have a job, BUT could be a great opportunity to try out other offices. Dalhousie makes you reapply into the MArch program after BEDS which sounds like potential (albeit small) for getting supremely screwed over. Both schools have cool sounding study abroad opportunities.

I'm wondering if anyone out there has anything to say about their experiences in either of these two programs. Like things you wish you heard before you went. Or tell me if something I said in "what I know" is wrong. That would be really helpful :)

May 18, 16 8:27 pm
Non Sequitur

Take the shorter route and there is no need to add more schooling. Dal's reach and influence is far greater in eastern Canada/martitines and has it's particular ... how do I saw... McKay Lyons flavour... if you're into that sort of style. I don't know much else about that part of the country.

Carleton has an excellent digital studio with CIMS and although Ottawa may not be the most busiest of social cities, it's construction scene is skyrocketing... both commercial, residential and huge transit investments. Something to consider if you plan to stick around for a few years afterwards. Carleton's abroad program is pretty well known.

May 18, 16 8:41 pm  · 
 · 
Bench

Hi Tuck,