Archinect
anchor

Guidance for M.Arch Applications

Apoorva91

Dear all, This is my second post on Archinect, and I'm really hoping for a good response from all the wonderful people out here.

I'm from India, and I graduated in 2014 with B.Arch(with distinction) and now I want to pursue  my masters and have been going through info online regarding that. I'm confused about few things and it would be great if anyone could clarify them for me. (I want to apply to GSD, MIT, Yale, Cornell, UCLA, GSAAP, CED Berkeley)

1) Can SoP be written before application process even starts? I mean, I read in few forums that a prompt or questions will be given and we have to answer that and yet, in few other discussions, I read that you just have to write about yourself, work and your reasons to go to the School you are applying to. So, how does this work? 

2) Is there a common word limit for SoP? or is it only 'One page' or 'two page'. Since applications haven't started yet, I cant see any info on the university websites regarding this. So should I wait to write my SoP?

3) How important is the NAAB Accreditation to the degree? what is the difference between a professional masters degree and pre/post professional masters degree?

4)I have read about design language of the school and acceptance rate being more if applicants portfolio aligns with the school's work.But where do I find the School's work to study and understand what kind of work they do?

5) My GRE score is 159V / 160Q / 5AWA. 3.5 GPA  in undergrad, though I cant find the legit method of converting my percentage into GPA . Could you please tell me if I need to retake GRE? and how to Convert my percentage into GPA

Thank you so much. All responses are welcome.

May 17, 16 2:56 am
AstridCam

Hi, I myself went through this process last year so I would like to share with you a few things I wish I knew before :)