Archinect
anchor

Venturing on my own

Arched

I am a licensed architect considering a venture into starting a business of my own. I recently departed from a very unhealthy workplace. At this fork in my career, I am researching prospects of obtaining employment with a healthy and progressive firm or the possibility of moving on my own path and starting a business.

In consideration of moving on my own, I have done research into my intended market sector as well outlining resources I will need. I plan to start small. Preferably in partnership with another like-minded architect who is ready to take on such venture.

I have been following Archinect since I became licensed. This site has been very helpful. I would like to get perspectives from other architects whom have started businesses of their own. I appreciate any constructive advice. Thanks!

May 16, 16 12:31 pm
senjohnblutarsky

I was in a similar mindset when I left my other job.  Every time I ran numbers/ideas, I always ended up thinking a part time job at Lowes was going to be required.  Luckily, I was contacted by another firm.  Took a job and haven't looked back.  My market is probably very different, though.  No Architecture firms less than 45 minutes from home. 

May 16, 16 1:20 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

A few thoughts related to starting your own firm:

a. To avoid having to take on too much work that doesn't match up well with your target market, it's important to have a cushion of funds on which to live while the firm is getting established. Many would say you need 6-months of living expenses stashed away as cash reserves -- I would recommend a 1-year reserve of living expenses as more appropriate.