Archinect
anchor

Salary Expectations

Julia Morgan

Hello All, 

My husband and I are moving to Seattle and I'm curious as to what Salary range I should be asking for/expecting from potential employers. 

i have a Master's and 2 years experience + 8 years of manager level professional experience in another field. I've completed 3 of my exams and about half my hours - taking my 4th in a month and hoping to finish the remainder by the end of the year. Applying for Junior Designer, Staff positions.There were serious issues of unequal pay at my previous firm and already have anxiety about this topic - feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

May 11, 16 2:39 pm
chigurh

May 11, 16 2:40 pm  · 
 · 
Archinect

If you'd like to get a good idea of what architects are currently earning, check out salaries.archinect.com

May 11, 16 2:46 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

60K on the high side....much like architectural knowledge is undervalued in any other industry, in the architecture industry your "8 years of manager level professional experience in another field" is valued minimally.

I'd say $52-56k is more of the going rate two years experience.

Seattle is one of those hip place where young professionals migrate to in grooves, so although cost of living is high, competition in the job market is fierce, and there are a lot of ppl that buckle to low wages just to get their first job or two.

May 11, 16 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
proto

i thought julia morgan was independently wealthy and quite the architectural go-getter -- she'd never work for someone else!

May 11, 16 2:52 pm  · 
 · 
YourYoureYore

60k for an intern with 2 years of experience? Wow.

May 11, 16 8:25 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball