Archinect
anchor

Grad Schools in Chicago: UIC, UIUC, IIT, or SAIC?

eop993

Hello all, 

I'm currently an undergraduate junior working towards a B.Des in Architecture at the University of Central Florida and I'm dying down here because...

I've had my mind set on moving to Chicago post-undergraduate for a number of reasons, but I'm starting to wonder if there are any worthwhile graduate options in the city/illinois area. 

I say this partly because I haven't been able to find much helpful information on any program within Chicago/Illinois and what I have found has been a little less than what I hoped for, but maybe that's just me being pessimistic.

If someone or a few of you could give me your thoughts on any of the schools listed, that'd be great!  

May 10, 16 6:48 pm
eop993

Ideally I'd like to work on commercial/community projects, I'm not sure if that's what you're asking when you say "route." I'm very familiar with Chicago already and favor the sort of living environment there over other comparable metropolitan cities. The idea of completing my M.Arch in an urban setting like Chicago is also a draw, so there's that and then the post-graduate possibility of working at a firm in the city. 

Thanks for the feedback, and I'll definitely look into those schools!

May 10, 16 7:27 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

IIT. If you pick your professors well and are strategic you will get a good enough education and a great job out of school. 

SAIC and UIC is a whole bunch of foffing about - pretty drawings, installations, stupid theories, shit that isn't germane to a career in architecture if you don't have a trust fund.

May 10, 16 7:34 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Yeah UW-Milwaukee is definitely a solid choice. I liked Milwaukee but I don't know if I'd want to live there. Definitely less expensive than Chicago though.

But in Chi proper IIT is the way to go. Be careful though. I am worried SAIC and UIC are slowly infecting it.

May 10, 16 11:56 pm  · 
 · 
Driko