Archinect
anchor

General tips for applying to firms both big and small.

kellycase1982

So.

I graduated with a master's in architecture and spent one year working a small practice in Illinois. Life has necessitated that I move to Seattle.  I went back to school in my late 20s for my degree. 

I interview well and have experience as both a project manager in a previous life and designing everything from school renovations to community projects to homeless shelters. 
In anticipation of my move, I began applying to firms in the area and I have some questions and a plea for basic tips just to get in the door. as I feel like I'm sending things off into the void.

Anything you feel is important would be great. 

May 10, 16 3:24 pm
tduds

For starters, don't begin correspondence with "So..." 

Then take what you just wrote and polish it up with specific examples. Now you have a cover letter.

May 10, 16 3:38 pm  · 
 · 
kellycase1982

Yes, thank you for the general tips.  I'm 34, I had a successful pre-architecture career where I wore many different hats.  I have a well crafted cover letter, a polished resume and wonderful references. 

I'm asking for perhaps key words and phrases HR people look for etc etc.

Or perhaps things that people often miss or don't think about during the the application process which can be specific to a new industry that I'm now involved in. 

For example, I'm very perplexed by the idea that some of these firms will post a job and then still will not even begin the interview process a month later. Is this normal?

May 10, 16 3:46 pm  · 
 · 
midlander

For example, I'm very perplexed by the idea that some of these firms will post a job and then still will not even begin the interview process a month later. Is this normal?