Archinect
anchor

Strike 1, Strike 2, Strike 3 @ SOM Careers

BR.TN

Hi all,

I met a design principal at SOM last year and expressed my desire to work with them. They were pleased to hear of my interest; I had given them physical copies of my portfolio, resume, and cover letter, and they were engaged with it enough to pass it on to their office's HR director who's in charge of recruitment. The HR director contacted me requesting digital copies and suggested I filled out electronic applications to also be filed in the database.

So I applied online for Architectural Designer (1-3 years experience), Architectural Assistant (0-1 year experience), and Summer Intern, after giving an informal application to the principal.

- Strike 1: NO INTERVIEWS - Strike 2: NO INTERVIEWS - Strike 3: NO INTERVIEWS -

I have 2 years of professional experience in multi-family residential work, both in large scale high-rise towers and mid-rise developments.

My academic work is passionate, sophisticated, and looks great in terms of graphic representation and conveying ideas. My professional work is of lower design quality than SOM's projects but is still considered above-average, reasonably respected by SOM, and is supported by rock-solid references from my co-workers/boss who are well connected to SOM too.

I have a 4-year Bachelor of Science degree in Architecture. This is actually the main reason I think I'm not even being considered, as I think it's literally an initial screening factor that is disqualifying me, especially online. That theory seems ridiculous because you would assume SOM would want top talent to work for them no matter what their educational background is, but really, I can't figure out why I'm not getting interviews. I have all of the pieces put together to have been able to start working there months ago.