Archinect
anchor

Need help with Applying for Masters in Architecture

Apoorva91

I am an Architect, from India, Graduated in 2014 from a fairly normal college with decent grades and distinction. Im still not clear on GPA conversion but it will be above 3.5...

Now i wish to apply for Masters this year so that i can start from 2017. But its very confusing. I have gone through quite some forums and lot of university websites...i still have no clear picture. Please help. Any information on all fronts is welcome..

Ill be applying to the following schools: MIT, Yale, Harvard, UCLA, Columbia GSAAP, Cornell

My queries lie in the following areas:

1. It looks like SoP is one of the most important things in an application. Since Applications haven't started yet as it is still May, i don't know instructions. But i want to start writing them immediately. So how many words should i write my SoP in? Will all the universities have a different prompt? should i wait until applications start before writing my SoP? Which university of the above asks for prompts and how many words of SoP do they usually ask?

2. What about portfolio? Does it have to be PDF or can you give issuu.com link?
how many sheets are ideal portfolio? a sheet includes 2 pages? or 1 side=1 sheet?

Can i include my resume and co curricular activities in portfolio? or should that be a separate thing? should portfolio include only works related to architecture?

3. My GRE score is 159V/160Q/5AWA ...is it better if i give it again for better score?

4. What about financial Aid? should i apply for it before i give my actual application? or can i apply for financial aid only after my application is finished & submitted?

5. Will work experience matter a lot in consideration?

6. I have very good co-curricular activities and volunteering experience. Will any of this count? if so, how much?

Please Help! any insight and reply Highly appreciated...Thanks in Advance....

May 2, 16 2:58 pm
accesskb