Archinect
anchor

CPBD exam specifications under review by NCBDC.

Non Sequitur

May 4, 16 9:26 am  · 
 · 
JeromeS

I don't know why we are counting bricks, when a tape measure will do.  Its a one story building.  As discussed, you can snake a tape and measure everything.

May 4, 16 9:27 am  · 
 · 
SpontaneousCombustion

So by your logic Rick, unless I identify myself publicly on this internet forum I don't need to report you to the board?  That doesn't make any sense  There is no law that says I need to do that on this forum. But there is a law that says that if I'm a licensed architect I must report situations of professional misconduct or imminent danger to HSW, and I believe in my professional judgement that such a situation exists, so how do you figure that means I have a choice about reporting it?  You've left no choice.

Let's say somebody gets hurt there, and as part of the discovery process in your trial the transcript of this thread is obtained, and the IP addresses of those posting are subpoenaed.  If that happens and those of us who are licensed in that state are found to have known about this and done nothing, that's our licenses on the line, if not worse.

Now, it is possible that it's true that you had nothing to do with this building at all, other than help with a bit of volunteer carpentry and painting - in which case it will be up to you to prove that to OBAE.  I can't take that chance, because by your own statements you were the designer of this thing.

I'm not in OR now so I can't run over there and measure.  I'm considering hiring a task rabbit to go do it, and another to document it on video - I want to get my report to OBAE over with in one shot, with all supporting documentation.  All I can do is go from the engineers' drawings, which seem to exactly match my count of bricks too, and you seem to be off by as much as a foot or more. Count them yourself from your interior photos - I'm getting 60 bricks per pilaster.

May 4, 16 9:57 am  · 
 ·