Archinect
anchor

Internship Tasks: What is a respectful internship experience?

texas toast

Hello all!

About 6 months ago, I began my first official architecture job at a smaller (12 people) firm. I graduated from a 4 year architecture program, one of the top of my class, have internship experience, and used to manage a small interior design business. 

I have had a job since I was 15, so I have done every office task and gofer job there is, but since attending school and obtaining a Bachelor's in Architecture, I thought it would be different. I was told I would be a "Junior Architect". I spend most of my days cleaning the kitchen, ordering office supplies, stocking the bathrooms, going to the bank, post office, picking up lunches, water the plants etc. If I do end up working on some architectural related work (CAD, RFQs, Presentation Boards) , I am usually asked to drop what I'm doing (not always on the kindest manner) and perform the office task at hand. 

I know that I am technically an Intern, so it's not going to be all design and glitz and glam, but my previous experience as an "Intern", allowed me to do more architecture related work than this job it seems, so I thought I was past this kind of phase. There's not always a lot of professional respect in some comments and often a lot of tone and blame in my work place. 

For all of the fresh graduates out there, I was wondering what it is Junior Architects do on their day to day basis? What SHOULD an intern be doing? Is it normal to start in these tasks? Is this a- for lack of better term-  "good" internship environment to be in?  I want to see if this is just how it is and work my way up or if I should be valuing  myself a little higher.

Thank you in advance!

Apr 21, 16 2:25 pm
no_form
You should find a new job. Clearly they have no respect for you. Take charge of your career.
Apr 21, 16 2:30 pm  · 
 · 
x intern