Archinect
anchor

Anything good about being an architect?

uthmn

I'm a graduating mechanical engineering student who is considering transitioning to the architecture field. Growing up I was naturally drawn to the profession and I used to design buildings and make 3-D models from cardboard just for fun. I chose to study engineering over architecture in college because of the higher salary and the stability one experiences in the engineering field. However, I'm just genuinely not into engineering which is why I am looking to architecture. But so many people make architecture seem like a black hole of a profession, little satisfaction and a low salary.  So I would like to know, do any practicing architects actually ENJOY what they do? Is there anything remotely positive about being in the architectural design field?

Apr 20, 16 7:17 pm
curtkram

we do it for the money and fame.

Apr 20, 16 7:21 pm  · 
 · 
StarchitectAlpha

Does drawing blueprints of handicap accessible toilet stalls for 5 years 10 hours a day for 40k a year sound like something you could be into? Then go for it!

Apr 20, 16 7:24 pm  · 
1  · 
lacalr

It's a whole lot of drawing lines but if it's truly your passion you can find positive aspects all around. But if you get deterred easily by what other people say i'd maybe stick with engineering. You have to really want to be in the design field to find satisfaction in it, it really isn't something you can half ass. 

Apr 20, 16 7:26 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Free tile and countertop samples that double as coasters.

Apr 20, 16 7:28 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

You probably cant handle all the pussy, money, fast cars, and cocaine that comes with being an architect, it takes quite the tolerance to handle so much wealth and fame. 

All in all, it not for everyone.

Apr 20, 16 7:30 pm  · 
 · 

If there was not something to it, there would not be so many people willing to put up with so much shit to do it.

Apr 20, 16 7:34 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete