Archinect
anchor

If your M.arch won't yield a great salary, can your undergraduate degree help?

archKash

So for example, I am majoring in marketing with hopes to get into, say, GSD or GSAPP one day. Marketing salaries alone are pretty decent but wouldn't a company pay more for a marketing major with a GSD background in design? Does going to GSD mean being lock in with architecture. I am only asking because the architecture salaries are scary - as you all may know. Usually MBA grads receive 6-figure starting salaries. Side question... Can you may a lot if you start your own firm? Thanks for your guidance!

Apr 13, 16 11:32 am
curtkram

i think your concerns are with the profession, not the education.  if you want to make a marketing salary, go into marketing.  if you want to make an architect's salary, go in to architecture.  (if salary is the driving force.  there are other considerations of course)

if you have a degree in both marketing and architecture, i suppose you could choose between those 2 career choices.  as a synergy, you could be the marketing person for an architecture firm, in which case you would be in marketing rather than architecture.  i don't think there is much need for architects in the field of marketing, but i don't know much about that.

Apr 13, 16 11:40 am  · 
 · 
no_form
People have repeatedly stated on here that they make $100,000+ with only 2-6 years experience as wage earner. And stated that so can you if you're talented. Ivy degree not a requirement. Personally I think they're bullshitting us.
Apr 13, 16 11:54 am  · 
 · 
archKash

It seems like less than 2% of the profession are making over $100,000. 

Apr 13, 16 12:07 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

In all honesty a design degree from GSD coupled with a MBA probably wont net you more earnings unless your experience and background can bring more money in for your employer.