Archinect
anchor

UBC or Dalhousie?

AceofArch

Hey,

So I've been accepted into UBC's ENDS, and will hear about Dalhousie's BEDS probably around the time I need to decide to accept UBC's offer or not. I really am split on what to do because I got my bachelor's degree from UBC already and love the campus and the city, and would be able to save money living with my parents. On the other hand Halifax, I hear is cheaper to live in, and it was my dream to go there since second year (which was five years ago for me). I'm a bit worried that the city will be boring since I've lived abroad over the past two years off, and I'm a really outdoorsy person. Also I've been working as a free lance journalist and would like to continue to do so during my free time. In Canada, I think Dalhousie has a better reputation, though internationally, I guess UBC has more name recognition. For me the top priorities rank like this: I want to be able to develop my focus on sustainability, I want to enjoy the culture of the city, and money plays a part too. I also know that a lot more people stay for Dalhousie's M.Arch after their BEDS than people stay for UBC's M.Arch after ENDS. Does anyone actually know why that is? PS: Does anyone know which program is more competitive, I guess I should factor in how my grandparents will feel about the choice too.

Thanks for your help!

Apr 8, 16 10:53 am
Non Sequitur

DAL has a much stronger undergrad program than UBC therefore most students are already well-prepared and choose to stay. It's a smaller school and community too. It helps if you have a thing for McKay-Lyons.

Since Canadian tuition is virtually free (compared to our southern neighbour's), consider stepping out of your confort zone and take the different school for M.arch. I did the same 10 years ago (although with different schools) and never looked back.

Apr 8, 16 12:43 pm  · 
 · 
AceofArch