Archinect
anchor

5yrs Cooper Union or 3yrs Sci Arc

jvvier

Hello! I've been a long time lurker around the Archinect forums, but recently I've found myself needing advice as well.

I'm currently a student at a local CC in Los Angeles, in a 2 year architecture program that has been known for high rates of 3rd Year transfers towards Californian Universities; mainly Sci Arc, San Luis Obispo, and Pomona.

Yet I chose to apply to out of state schools for the heck of it (and well general interest in their programs), and as of last week have been accepted into Cooper Union. But as a first year transfer. 

I'm wondering if any of you have had any experience with either Cooper Union or Sci Arc (which had always been my "Plan B" I suppose), and whether or not you think the education I would get at Cooper Union would outweigh the additional two years of education and cost.

P.S. Price wise, considering Cooper Union's half tuition scholarship, the five years at Cooper Union would even out with say three years at Sci Arc).

P.P.S. I'm still waiting on Cornell (which would beat out either schools at this point), but the deadline for the required deposit to save a place for Cooper is before Cornell even begins to send out acceptance letters, so I'm hesitant to wait it out. 

Thank you!

Apr 6, 16 5:14 pm
∑ π ∓ √ ∞

Go to Cooper, get out of your comfort zone,

Apr 6, 16 5:47 pm  · 
1  · 
C. Watts

They may cost the same, but consider that you would have two years to work and make money with sci-arc due to an earlier graduation date.  So technically Cooper Union would be more expensive, in time.  Have you been able to visit?

Apr 6, 16 6:51 pm  · 
1  · 
Koww

go see the schools in person and check it out.

Apr 6, 16 8:51 pm  · 
1  · 
CLOCLO