Archinect
anchor

Parsons vs. Pratt vs. NSAD vs. Woodbury

zuko

Hi all, 

I'm currently a freshman science major, applied as a transfer into the B.Arch program at several schools. So far the ones that I've got accepted into and that i'm willing to attend is Pratt, New School of Architecture and Design, and Woodbury @ the campus in Los Angeles. I also applied to Parsons in New York and USC. Assuming I got into Pratt i would like to think Parsons will accept me as well so i'm just throwing it in, USC however i'm pretty doubtful but we'll see.

ANYWAY, I don't know much about any of these schools other than the general rankings and the info on their websites, could anyone offer any possible personal experiences at any of these schools or any insight at all would be helpful. I of course want the best education I can get regarding this field, tuition doesn't really matter in my case and I don't really have a preference for location both NY and California are all nice to me. 

Mar 31, 16 4:55 pm
batman

i dont know parsons or pratt,

but if you get into USC for their B.ARCH program then its a no brainer. woodbury shouldn't even be into consideration. just no good faculty

Mar 31, 16 5:44 pm  · 
 · 
zuko

IF i got into USC then of course woodbury wouldn't even be an option at that point, but considering my current situation its out of Pratt, NSAD, Woodbury and possibly Parsons

Mar 31, 16 8:53 pm  · 
 · 
batman

not knowing those two programs, id choose NY over woodbury.

pratty/parsons will at least have some connections in an NY firm and if you were to relocated to LA it would be good advantage (i dont know if it's easier, but certainly having NY under your belt is a plus)

going to woodbury wouldn't help you out in both cases. LA is saturated with UCLA/USC/SCI-ARC + East coast people.

im in NYC now and i don't know anybody from woodbury

Mar 31, 16 9:24 pm  · 
 · 
batman

and what the hell is new school of architecture and design?