Archinect
anchor

Portfolio critic

Hello, I am currently a third year architecture student in the University of Toulouse, France. I am planning to have a gap year starting next summer and finding an internship abroad is all what matters for me right now. Can I please have your critics on my portfolio? it will help me a lot! Thanks in advance.

Here's the link: https://issuu.com/rimbenzaouia/docs/architecture_portfolio_-_rim_benzao

Mar 29, 16 11:59 am
Non Sequitur

Did you not post the same thing 5 days ago?

Renderings and sections details need lots of love. Too much grey, no enough contrasts. No punch, no spark, etc.

Lose the hand drawings near the end, they look like they were traced from photographs and show zero depth. I'd drop that software skills dot-chart thing. The employer will decide if you're a 9 out of 10 in CAD (Hint: no one is)

Mar 29, 16 12:42 pm  · 
 · 

Yes I did and thanks for giving me your critics just now :) I'll take in consideration what you said even if I don't really agree with the "hand drawings with no depth" part. Have a good day.

Mar 29, 16 1:10 pm  · 
 · 
seedsnstems

Typically you begin and end with your best projects, to first capture attention and then finish on a high note. I would get rid of the drawings at the end, because they don't show much, don't really fit the rest of the portfolio, and are far less interesting than your design projects. A lot of people can draw faces, horses, and existing buildings.

If you want to showcase your hand-drawing, which is a good idea, I would include process work, partis, and sketches of your projects throughout the portfolio. Then you can demonstrate your drawing skills while also showing how you use them to develop ideas.

Mar 30, 16 9:36 pm  · 
 · 
thompson's gazelle