Archinect
anchor

Can I call them "my artworks"?

yEAh

I have sketched several artworks as a "concept" for the art that will be commissioned to different artists for a concept restaurant in Dubai, which I have also designed. Apparently my boss/owner of the restaurant (graphic designer by profession) is not hiring artists anymore and we're just going to have my pieces made. Now, thoughts are going to my mind that he might claim every artwork as his own in front of other people. I've seen this happen before whereas I was not acknowledged to some people that I was the Architect/designer or even a collaborator. So, I'm very skeptical about this.

To be fair, he briefed me about the concept/story of the restaurant and we collaborated on what to put on it. I did all the sketches and actual "concept" of some of the artworks that are truly original. (Others are just plain objects) Just to put things into perspective, I'm the head Architect/ designer of the company but not a partner. So I think it's just my right to claim these artworks and put my name on it. I can even accept these as a "collaboration" with him. Even though this is part of my work for the company, I believe the artwork itself is a different story. 

I truly believe once built, it will be the talk of the town as this will be in Dubai. Even moreso, it's the first concept restaurant/lounge wherein the target market are mostly prominent and rich locals. I just fear the day that he will take all the credit for these things and I end up doing all the work as a mystery designer. I'm a no namer and not prominent so it makes no sense for him to drop my name as an "artist". I don't even call myself that as this will be the first big scale/art installation that I have ever done.

Any thoughts on what I should do?

Mar 27, 16 1:50 pm
jcrarch