Archinect
anchor

MLA - RISD or Cornell?

Frannosk

Hi all,

So far I have been accepted by RISD, Cornell and WUSTL for MLA program starting this fall. I am a WUSTL undergrad so I'm deciding on going somewhere else for grad school.

I am an environmental policy major in college and am interested in ecology/environment related landscape designs. 

Could someone please give me some intro to either schools (RISD or Cornell) on what their programs focus more on, and what kind of career people usually step into when graduated?

Thanks!

Mar 23, 16 1:49 am
tomklein

Frannosk - I know quite a few RISD alum and was recently accepted by WUSTL for the MLA. My perspective, with a more limited understanding of WUSTL, is that those two programs are very similar. It doesn't sound like your undergrad was in the Sam Fox School, but I get the feeling those two have similar vibes. Visual art appears to be an important aspect of both, and I know that at RISD the first year of the 3 year MLA is really focused on sketching and hand rendering. 

Cornell's program is based in the Ag school, which will give it more of an environment/engineering feel. I think that both programs, if not all programs, are going to be very strong on ecological design since that is such an important movement happening right now in our field. 

Can you provide me with some insight into WUSTL? I am visiting this weekend, and would love any insight you have into the college, and the neighborhood. I have lived in Boston, MA for the past three years, but am originally from the midwest (Madison, WI). I've never been to St. Louis. 

Apr 21, 16 10:24 am  · 
 · 

Sample work and happenings from Cornell

Apr 21, 16 10:38 am  · 
 · 
international_applicant

Take the cheapest. If money is the same for everyone go for Cornell.

Apr 21, 16 1:01 pm  · 
 · 
3tk