Archinect
anchor

Architectural Thesis advice

ericapamintuan

Hello guys! I'm from the Phil and i'm an incoming 5th yr student.  I just need your advice and suggestions/tips  for my thesis title. Originally, it was "Benguet Vermicomposting and Recycling Center: An exploration of the use of vermin to waste reduction".  I chose the topic solid waste management  to address the growing waste menace in Baguio City.

Actually my professor have already approved my title. It's just that he's concerned about the percentage of Architectural solution that i will provide because my title falls under  Industrial zone.  And i was thinking of changing it instead.  The problem is, I've already completed my research book and my professor advised me to not to change my title because it will be a suicide. lol - since i have to start all over again.  And then i thought of an idea of providing commercial zones/areas in it. The scope will be on the integration of industrial and commercial zone. It will be a never ending cycle:

From wastes ->fertilizer+products->products will be sold->wastes will be generated again -> 

Soooo.. that's it. Any comments? questions? concerns? It will be greatly appreciated. :) thanks!

Mar 21, 16 11:38 am
x-jla

Can it be overlapped with park space?  See James Corners Freshkills park project...can it be scaled to something that could potentially be decentralized and integrated into a small urban space/s?  Can it be architecturally symbolic/monumental?  See Battersea power station...  Can it combine functional necessity with symbolism/education/information? See Realities United smoke rings on that BIG project... Don't give in to the professors that want some curvy bullshit.  This project can be deeper than some aesthetic wavy bullshit as it addresses issues of infrastructure + architecture + urban planning + sustainability.  

Mar 21, 16 12:22 pm  · 
 · 
gdub