Archinect
anchor

Sci-Arch Making+Meaning or UCLA Jumpstart

gordon31991

Hi guys, I just need your opinion on the two summer programs Sci-arch and UCLA have available. I've done research and it looks like both programs is beneficial for helping to build my portfolio for M.arch applications. I was just wondering if anyone had more insight on the difference between the learning outcomes, average work load, etc.

About me: I have no architectural background and I am looking for an intro/crash course to architect that will help build my portfolio. I have a degree unrelated to architecture. 

Thank you !

Mar 8, 16 5:39 am
gordon31991

bumps

Mar 8, 16 1:14 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

they are both gonna be pretty similar - huge workload - huge learning curve.

Go where you want to go to school if you have a preference.

Similar pedagogy, faculty and critics bounce back and forth between the two - maybe environment is a consideration - downtown vs. westwood and commute, that one is up to you.  no h sciarc.

Mar 8, 16 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
C. Watts

Because of the similarities between the schools, I would take price into consideration. Go with whichever is cheaper for the summer.  If they cost the same... flip a coin?   

Mar 8, 16 3:09 pm  · 
 · 
gordon31991

The cost is going to be relatively the same. I think the program that will be beneficial for building my portfolio will be my deciding factor. 

Mar 8, 16 9:24 pm  · 
 · 
gordon31991

Any additional input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you !!

Mar 13, 16 5:23 am  · 
 · 
Janosh

Both are well-suited to prepare you (or pre-interview you) for that particular school, but UCLA probably has more application elsewhere.

Mar 13, 16 4:44 pm  · 
 · 
Okada