Archinect
anchor

New School of Architecture reputation...

manoverde84

what is the reputation among the AEC community on New School in San Diego? I'm not talking about Parsons at the New School in NYC but the New School of Arch and Design in San Diego, CA. Is it considered a reputable school with a reputable arch program? Does it have reputable faculty. I know schools matter little when out in the workforce in this field but it would at least be preferable to graduate from somewhere that's not a total third tier school. 

Feb 12, 16 2:12 pm
zonker

I graduated there and so did one of my co-workers - we are able to hold our own with co-workers from  Berkeley, USC, Harvard and Columbia.

Feb 12, 16 2:45 pm  · 
1  · 
manoverde84

How do your peers view the school? What do employers think? Is it considered reputable among the AEC employers? 

Feb 12, 16 3:44 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

did we not already decided in your previous posts that more schooling was not the answer for you?

Skills and experience pays the bills, not the name on or the number of diplomas you carry.

Feb 12, 16 3:49 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

don't lie xenakis - you are the king of dudes getting laid off.

Feb 12, 16 3:59 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

chigurh

I was too ahead of time and it just took the architecture industry time to catch up to me - being at the "bleeding edge" has its costs so to speak - it comes with the game 

Feb 12, 16 4:09 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

How do your peers view the school? What do employers think? Is it considered reputable among the AEC employers? 

in all honesty, most firms never heard of the school - You went where? - 

Its not Berkeley, let alone Harvard - its a good functional accredited architectural school - when I graduated, I got hired at SOM - now when working in  an ivy patch like that, I admit I was out of my league even though I could arguably do the work. 

Feb 12, 16 4:18 pm  · 
 · 
manoverde84