Archinect
anchor

At what point do you use CSI specifications? Best practices for those providing them?

kwark

At what point do you use CSI specifications? Do you have any recommendations for best practices for manufacturers providing them?

I am a website designer for a manufacturer of building products. As such, I need to plan & design areas for downloads of all sorts of information. I don't necessarily understand all the content of that information or the usage needs of those who download those files. Examples: 2d drawing files, CSI specifications, rough opening information, other size charts and dimension calculations.

Specifically, my question is about CSI specifications. Our company currently provides them as DOCX and PDF files for download. Are these normally downloaded along with 2d drawing files? Is it logical to include them in an architectural library that consists mostly of 2d drawing files? Or, should they simply be in their own library, organized by product series, product type, and product model?

I'd like to learn more about how architects use files and technical information, so that as a website designer, I can serve them up in a way that is practical, flexible and straight-forward.

Thanks for any input!

Feb 9, 16 12:39 pm
senjohnblutarsky

The most irritating things on manufacturer's websites:

1. Having to sign up to download technical documents.  I usually won't spec a product that makes me do this. 

2. Having to download zipped folders.  I want to click the thing I want and get it.  Not select a bunch of things, then get them all together in a zipped folder.

3.  Files with ambiguous names.  30511AZPEK.doc doesn't tell me a darn thing.

I like being on a product page and being able to click the technical documents associated with that product.  If I have to go to a page to download documents, they need to be sorted by product. 

Feb 9, 16 1:42 pm  · 
 · 
kwark