Archinect
anchor

Design help ! Constructing on sloped areas.

JLViloria

Hi ! 
Im a sophomore architecture student and im looking for a more detailed explanation on the use of split level and terrace housing ( consequences , costs , materials , machinery used ,etc.) on sloped areas.

Our Design problem is Developing a Health Farm Hotel and Resort in a High altitude, steeped area which is popular as a tourist destination here in the Philippines.

Also , What are other ways in designing a building on steep areas.

Thank you so much , any suggestions / comments would help us in our design project and thesis :))

P.S. Below is the land condition were gonna use , the area is going down from south to north with flat areas per step.

Feb 7, 16 10:56 am
x-jla

Can someone please scold this lad...I have my own kids to discipline.  

Feb 7, 16 12:29 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

you should think outside the box on this one.  why does everything always have to equal 0 in statics?  get a positive number in there this time.  think of architecture as a kinetic sculpture.  everyone designs buildings on slopes to not slide down the slope.  that's already been done.  be creative and design a building that's supposed to fall off the slope.

Feb 7, 16 1:59 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

Go to a library and grab some books/magazines...useless.

Feb 8, 16 3:27 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I see someone failed at school.

Feb 8, 16 8:46 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

"ill give you a hint, shit and water"

Feb 8, 16 10:00 am  · 
 · 
haruki

I've heard kids these days don't read books but you might want to go against the grain and consider doing that. I recommend that you start with "Building the Slope" by Dominique Rouillard. 

Feb 8, 16 1:21 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

worst question ever.

do you have any understanding of scale?  That topo drawing is ridiculous - what are the intervals? How large is the site?  For all we know that could be a 6ft drop over a 5 acre site.