Archinect
anchor

Designer

obleyo

Hello,

I am an artist and designer just starting out in the field of architectural design.  I have a project for a home addition here in Los Angeles that I am using as way to school myself in the process of compiling construction drawings for my design. 

I have a question regarding the plumbing plan and related documents.  Does a designer need to know how to draw plumbing diagrams for construction?  Is that something that is done by an engineer after the main architectural drawings are completed?

I have very little knowledge of plumbing and I am not sure how far I need to go with drawing the plumbing details.

Thanks for any input you might be able to give.

Joel Stoffer 

Jan 11, 16 2:05 am

obleyo,

I can't say for California but in Oregon, some aspects of the plumbing diagram maybe prepared by a competent plumbing contractor just  like the electrical. You would have to be careful in who does it. (ie. make sure they are good not just some shady f---). 

It is advisable that you know this stuff at least to the basic and otherwise prescriptive code requirements. Otherwise, something more advance would be something that I would suggest a qualified engineer.

Jan 11, 16 6:16 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

obleyo, your client should have hired an architect instead of taking the cheap route.

Jan 11, 16 8:24 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

You should at least know where the plumbing is going through, it isn't your job to know the optimal routing of the plumbing. Usually for large projects an MEP engineer is involved early on, from experience. I have never done small houses so can't comment on that.

Jan 11, 16 10:30 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

^ adequate room for chase walls for stacks and venting is the bare minimum.

A good designer should know more than this in order to control the project's systems thou.

Jan 11, 16 10:35 am  · 
 · 
no_form