Archinect
anchor

Transitioning from Structural Engineering to Architecture?

Asher47

I am sure this question has been asked a million times, but here goes. I am a structural engineer with 2.5 years of experience and am looking to move into architecture. Do you think anyone will hire me based on my relevant experience?

I am currently designing custom homes/town-homes and starting to do larger multi-family jobs. I will be taking the CA PE test this spring, but I am losing interest because I don’t feel like I get enough satisfaction out of ripping through a structural design as fast as possible. Once a design is completed I never see the finished project in real life. I feel like getting to spend more time on designs and being involved through the completion of the project would give me so much more fulfillment.

I grew up around construction. I have worked as a wood framer, metal stud framer, and cabinet maker. I am more creative than I am structured/organized. I feel like this should be sufficient experience to land an entry-level architecture job. Do you think it is possible to make the transition without additional schooling and do you think I would enjoy it more? It would be awesome to hear from someone who has made a similar transition. 

Thank you

Jan 6, 16 1:03 am
midlander

"I don’t feel like I get enough satisfaction out of ripping through a ... design as fast as possible. Once a design is completed I never see the finished project in real life. I feel like getting to spend more time on designs and being involved through the completion of the project would give me so much more fulfillment."