Archinect
anchor

Working during M.ARCH?

RazanALT

Hi all,

I'm just curious whether any of you have successfully worked full-time or part-time while pursuing a 3-year M.ARCH? Is that feasible with the course load? My only experience with studio culture is Career Discovery.

After visiting a ton of open-houses, it seems like that outside jobs are frowned upon but i don't think working in a computer lab or TA-ing is enough either, and TA-ing is not an option for first years anyways. 

My background is in IT, and I'm considering asking my current job whether I can switch to part-time if I start an M.ARCH program in the fall. I'm also a freelance real estate photographer, so I'm hoping to do that on weekends as well. I want to graduate with as little debt as possible.

What worked for you guys? How did you pay for school? Did you snag some nice scholarships, or did you just take out a ton of loans? Or work a couple part-time jobs?

Thanks!!

Jan 4, 16 6:47 pm
SneakyPete

Look outside the department. If the library has a technology or printing lab, apply. I got a tuition waiver and also got paid outside the arch department. The arch department didn't feel like offering me anything, and what they typically offered was weak tea compared with the library assistantships.

Regarding working during school, don't let them make it an issue. "Frowned upon" is just their way of trying to control you. Don't let them, don't apologize, but also don't waste their time. Get your shit done, get it done well, and SHOW UP. Don't give them rope to hang you with, but don't let them dictate what you're capable of.

Jan 4, 16 7:20 pm  · 
 · 
SpontaneousCombustion