Archinect
anchor

suggestions for appling at BJARKE INGELS GROUP ARCHITECT ( BIG ) as an intern architect

i am a 4th year student of architecture. i want to try at BIG group as an intern, we have a 1 year(july 16 - july 17) internship programme in our college(semester 9th & 10th). well working at BIG is dream so i want to know what all do i need to take care while making my portfolio. what kind of portfolio it should be ... etc. Anyone having experience at BIG . this information for me will be really helpfull. i hope to get a feedback. + can i follow up with some one while making my portfolio for applying at BIG.

regards,
Pragya Vashisht
(chandigarh, india)

Dec 21, 15 11:21 am
no_form
Use spell check. Have someone proof read your cover letter, portfolio, and resume.
Dec 21, 15 11:38 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

make sure to write in ALL CAPS on your cover letter.

Dec 21, 15 11:41 am  · 
 · 
3tk

your portfolio should include similar work to theirs graphically - presumably you'll be doing more of the production work so show that you can do it as well, if not better.  Other than that - it's a competition vs your peers; so be better than the rest- writing/layout/design/graphics.

Dec 21, 15 12:59 pm  · 
 · 

Hi Pragya,

This article might be helpful for you:

The Two Page Architecture Portfolio

Good luck!

Dec 21, 15 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
no_form
It helps if you have a name brand degree and know people who are already there. And always have someone proof read your writing. Especially if English isn't your first language.
Dec 21, 15 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
Bhunivelze

As with anything, don't look like a wanna-be cookie cutter. Highlight why adding you would be beneficial to the firm. What can you personally bring to the table to move things forward?

Dec 21, 15 9:29 pm  · 
 · 
tomahawks_619

Umm just so you know you will probably only get a stipend and given how expensive NYC/Copenhagen is you will barely scratch the surface.