Archinect
anchor

accessibility code 1134A.2 bathroom accessibility

jeffj2010

I need clarification for this code and I hope  some one can assist me or refer me to

an authorized person.
I am An Architect and done many multi-family dwelling projects.  I have a disagreement regarding interpretation of this code which happened only in my last project with the plan checker. I appreciate if you let me know what is your understanding of this code?
I am using "option two" for bathroom accessibility for

an apartment unit.

Option 2. Only one bathroom within the dwelling unit 

shall be designed to comply with the following:

1. Toilet, bathing and shower facilities shall comply with Section 1134A.4.

2. Bathtubs shall comply with Section 1134A.5.

3. Showers shall comply with Section 1134A.6.

4. Water closets shall comply with Section 1134A.7.

5. Lavatories, vanities, mirrors and towel fixtures shall comply with Section 1134A.8.

6. Where both a tub and shower are provided in the bathroom, at least one shall be made accessible.

Additional requirements apply to dwelling units containing two or more bathrooms when a bathtub

is provided as the accessible bathing fixture.

Where two or more bathrooms are provided within the same dwelling unit and a bathtub is

installed to comply with Option 2, Item 6 in one bathroom and a shower stall is provided in a subsequent

bathroom, both the bathtub selected to comply with Option 2, Item 6 and at least one

shower stall within the dwelling unit shall meet all  the applicable accessibility requirements provided  in Section 1134A.

(See Section 1134A.5 for bathtubs, or Section 1134A.6 for showers.) 

7. When two or more lavatories are provided, at least one shall be made accessible and comply with Section 1134A.8.

8. Bathrooms shall be provided with an accessible route into and through the bathroom.

9. If a door is provided, it shall comply with the requirements of Section 1132A.5.