Archinect
anchor

Working in Abu Dhabi, AE

g.thomas.z

So I'm looking at a possible move to Abu Dhabi in August of 2016 and I'm wondering if anyone out there has experience living and working as an architect in the Arab Emirates.  I know that quite a few international firms have offices there-- Gensler, HKS, RTKL, RMJM, but I'm curious to know how likely, if at all, firms like that hire international architects. 

About me:  I'm a 27 year-old licensed architect from the US with most of my experience coming in large-scale commercial and sports/athletic related projects.  I have very strong Revit skills and have played a major role in establishing the BIM procedures and graphic standards at every firm I've worked for.  I also have strong graphic design and visualization skills, plus experience in putting together marketing materials and participating in interviews for large projects.  My weaknesses:  All of the built projects that I've managed have been interior renovations and TI, so I don't have the CA experience of bringing a ground-up project through construction.  I've drawn and detailed a few, but never taken one into construction.  My portfolio: www,gregoryzamell.com

Anyway, for those who have worked or even just traveled to the Emirates, I'd be very grateful to get some feedback on some of my questions.

-Did you have a job secured before arriving to the AE, or did you need to interview in person before being hired?

-How did you find your position?  Job postings, cold calling, in-person office visits?  

-Did your employer sponsor your move?  Did they cover any of your living expenses or offer a stipend during your employment?  I imagine this is unlikely, but I know it's quite common for other professions.

-How did the salary and general work expectations compare to previous jobs?  Was the salary a step down?  Did you get the growth you were looking for out of the experience?