Archinect
anchor

Working in Xiamen, China... where to start?

g.thomas.z

Archinecters,

I'm wondering if anyone has any information whatsoever on the employment climate in Xiamen, China.  There seems to be decent opportunities for foreign architects in Hong Kong, Beijing, and other parts of China, but I can't seem to find a glimmer of anything in Xiamen. My research has been limited to Google, Archinect, and a couple Chinese job posting sites because I really don't know where else to look.  Can anyone out there offer any guidance in pursuing a job in China?

For what it's worth, I'm a 27 year-old licensed architect from Denver with most of my experience coming from commercial and sports related projects.  I have no Chinese language skills.

Any help at all is greatly appreciated!

Dec 10, 15 10:37 pm
midlander

Xiamen is a small city by Chinese standards, and not a particularly fast growing one. I doubt any international firms have offices there, and even the LDI's working there are probably based in the nearby provincial capital Fuzhou.

It is a nice city and a pleasant place to visit, so there might be a few independent designers located there, but I don't know of any - and they probably wouldn't be able to offer a paid position.

The market for architects in China is quite weak right now. Most of the big firms have been laying off, a few foreign firms have closed their China offices. For someone at your level of experience who speaks no Chinese, I think it will be difficult to find a position that would be worth moving for. There are always unpaid / underpaid positions in the bigger cities, but they are probably done illegally (won't sponsor a work permit for you to live in China, and could get you in trouble).

Archibat is a big recruitment company focused on Chinese architects. Look through their postings. But I think you'll find better luck to stick to international firms and high-design studios in major cities, esp HK.

Dec 11, 15 4:42 am  · 
 · 
gwharton