Archinect
anchor

Internship in South Korea...

Hello,

I'm a 3rd year architecture student in France. I've been thinking recently about having an internship in Asia and especially South Korea or Japan..but a lot of questions drives me crazy. After doing some researches, I've found that there are many firms where interns aren't paid even if the amount of work is huge..life in South Korea is also stressing me out since not too many koreans speak in english..I'm totally lost and I don't even know if there are good firms that accepts interns coming from abroad. If someone has more informations about the subject, he is more than welcome.

Thanks in advance!!

( I thought about going to Dubai or Australia or even the States, but I'm not sure at all about what I'll be doing since everything seems so hard to accomplish right now..)

Dec 8, 15 7:26 pm
Victhor

What do you want to have with an internship abroad? I mean: Do you want to live the experience of living in another country for a period of time?, do you want a work experience to make you more valuable for future jobs in that country or in your country?. Do you need a salary to cover almost all your expenses?

I don't know about South Korea, but Japan seems a very dificult place to find an internship, all the work is done in japanese, and interns usually get exploitative unpaid works, from 10am to 12 in the midnight, as cad-monkeys or model makers. Look at the comments at the bottom of this article: http://www.dezeen.com/2013/06/05/unpaid-architecture-internships-in-japan-are-a-nice-opportunity/

Also you could ask for general information about the situation in Japana in the french office of this japanese architect: http://kotarohoriuchi.com/careers-en/staff-en/opendesk/?lang=en

Dec 9, 15 8:10 am  · 
 · 

Hello Victhor, thanks a lot for your answer.