Archinect
anchor

Looking into being an Architect

I am currently in high school, and like many high school students I don't know what I want my career to be. I have had an interest in architecture but I don't really know what to do or how to learn more. I am a sophomore in high school and there isn't any clubs at my school about architecture. I want to learn more about it and see if this is really what I would like to be in life. I know that you have to be good in math but other than that I don't know much about it. I am at a high level in math, currently taking AP Calculus AB which means next year I will take Multi-variable Calculus. Is this high enough? Are there any classes that I should take in high school to help me build experience?

Thank you.

Dec 8, 15 1:29 am
I took Calculus in College as it was required for one of the architecture programs I wanted to transfer into.

Haven't used it since, so you're fine on your math. If there is a drafting class take that. Take some art classes too, especially ones dealing with drawing. It will help. See if your parents know any architects who would let you come and see what it's like.

And don't listen to the people that reply below me scaring you away from the profession. I've come to the conclusion that's they are trying to keep their spot in the field (or picked the wrong profession for themselves).
Dec 8, 15 4:21 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

Or try to warn the younger ones...if you have a passion go for it, if you don't know what you want to do please research and try to get some work experience in an office first, so you can see how it really is.

Ask yourself some questions and don't just jump into it.

Do you want to be 30 something with massive debt, getting out of your masters earning as much as a 21 year old engineering student?

Do you actually know what architecture is?

Is this a passion/interest?

PS: Movies do not depict the architecture profession correctly.

Dec 8, 15 5:08 am  · 
 · 
midlander