Archinect
anchor

lots of extra money for drafting services!

chemitas

I am a full time construction manager with a BS in construction management and an AS in drafting and design. I have been picking up a lot of side work just drafting for companies. So far I have an architect, a residential designer, and a structural engineer who I am doing a lot of the drafting work for. I am struggling to keep up with a full time job and all this side work. I am working 65 - 70 hours a week. The idea of just taking on all the CAD work for these companies full time seems appealing to me. I do not like construction management (high stress, travel, etc.) I believe I would do well probably making more money than a lot of architects out there. Is this a smart choice, or is drafting something I shouldn't even consider for full time work? 

Dec 7, 15 10:27 am
no_form
You should contact RickB-Or. He will provide you with expert advice.
Dec 7, 15 10:42 am  · 
 · 
JeromeS

What is "making more money"?  Give me a number...

Dec 7, 15 10:52 am  · 
 · 
chemitas

I think I could make about 75-80k a year with the drafting work. This is contract work, so I know I need to consider taxes, insurance, etc. 

Dec 7, 15 10:55 am  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

that is "ok" money, but keep in mind it will be difficult to make much more than that, and very easy to make far less.  I suspect you your day job has better advancement opportunities.

Dec 7, 15 11:12 am  · 
 · 

"extra" money defines it very well. Next turn of the economy and those "extra" services will be the first to go. Architecture has been widely considered an economic forecaster because of the long lead times involved in construction projects.

Dec 7, 15 11:43 am  · 
 · 
no_form
Easy come easy go. Drafting is a dead end job in architecture.
Dec 7, 15 11:46 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

Don't do it, it's good money for extra money however it's not sustainable. Drafting freelance is very rocky as its very dependant on the economics of your country .