Archinect
anchor

Request Aid in Avoiding M.Arch of Folly

Brittain

Kudos for those who get the Tuchman reference.

I have lurked for awhile and read a bunch of threads on academia and M.Arch, and many seem to degenerate into ornery complaints about architect salaries and costs of schools. All of which seems fair to me. In any case:

I have a Bachelor's from UNC Asheville in Anthropology, and I want to get a M.Arch. I have no real interest in high-level, corporate firms (not aiming to be a starchitect). I am interested in all the trendy sustainability/green design and land use/planning stuff. I'm more interested in the rural than the urban, though not strongly so. I am not interested in architecture for art-house conceptual design nor the money (as I'm sure you'll all assure me is good). I would like to draw from anthropology to inform sustainable designs, and eventually find/form a niche working with intentional communities of all kinds, from hippie communes to co-housing, etc. I have found little-to-no evidence of many people combining these two fields, and am confident in my vision -- but not the reality of the practice.

So, I have questions for you all. I have researched these, but would like to crowdsource answers and opinions from the Archinect brain trust.