Archinect
anchor

Tenant Improvement - Do I need a M/E/P consultant?

ArchQuestion

Hi there - 

I'm working on a small tenant  improvement project - it's a dog wash and pet supply store in Southern California. We are adding new dog wash tubs and a new ADA restroom. Also all new lighting. The HVAC is existing but there are new fans going in, etc. 

The city is requesting electrical panel schedules and wanting to see all the circuits on an electrical plan. They are also requesting plumbing plans and details for things like the new floor drains, "isometric drawings" of the piping, etc.

I know on larger projects these kinds of mechanical, electrical and plumbing issues are generally handled by an outside consultant. Is a licensed architect expected to know how to do all of this stuff on a smaller project? I'm an interior designer with a background in architecture and not a licensed architect. I was just curious if these are items a licensed architect would typically provide and/or would they use an outside consultant? 

Thanks for any insight, help or tips. Much appreciated!

Nov 11, 15 7:15 pm
curtkram

if you're an interior designer, why not let the architect worry about the architect stuff?

there are a couple of ways i've handled this before.  sometimes with a consultant, sometimes through the contractor.  my current firm won't touch mep, but i worked for an architect that did. 

if you were an architect, you should know what a plumbing riser is, even if you're not the one drawing it. 

Nov 11, 15 7:21 pm  · 
 · 
ArchQuestion

This is just an interior remodel so I felt qualified to help. I was just wondering how licensed architects had approached this when it's smaller MEP items. I identify as a designer - either interior or exterior  - I've done everything from remodels to custom homes, interiors, etc. 

Nov 11, 15 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect