Archinect
anchor

Suggestions for course of study.

RBradner

Hello everyone,

I'm not sure this is the right place for this question, but I'm going to go ahead and post anyway. If anyone has a suggestion of where else I might seek answers to this question, please feel free to say so.

I'm a 30 year old student, enrolled in a community college in Portland, OR. I'm getting to a point in my education where I will need to transfer into a four-year university, preferably somewhere in the Portland metro area.

I am very interested in the study of cities and how they form, specifically urban morphology and I'm not sure what path would be the best to take. My interests are quite varied (architecture, writing, business, philosophy, math, film, sociology, linguistics, occult studies). It has made it really hard to pin down a career path but I'm leaning toward the world of academia, possibly going for a PhD in an area related to urban theory.

I'm at a loss as to what undergrad degree would be the most helpful for pursuit of this goal. I was looking at pursuing a degree in architecture but the time and effort required made me think twice, as my goals lie more in the study of cities and urban design than they do in the study of individual structures. Portland State University offers and undergrad in Community Development, but this seems geared more toward those who want to work on policy and city planning. Perhaps sociology? Or history? I'm very confused and a little overwhelmed by the number of options ahead of me. any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

-Ross-

Nov 7, 15 12:24 am
thompson's gazelle